Post Migration Tasks

After migrating your computing resources, there are some final steps that need to be performed to restore all your services.

Post Migration Process Table

Task Purpose
Move your VMs to the regular Storage Profiles Free up the migration storage.
Re-create your vApp Layout and re-attach the Network Estbalish connection to your services.
Deactivate the Migration Detach the migration storage and complete the process.
Delete unused Resources Remove unnecessary workload to avoid being billed for them.

DCS+: Move your VMs to the regular Storage Profiles

Next, please move away the VMs from the migration storage to their regular storage location in DCS+.

Note: These steps are simply the reverse of the previous chapter "attach the VMs to the migration storage" (see previous chapter for details). Of course, this needs to be done for each migrated VM.

  1. From the vCD landing page, click the "My Cloud" Ribbon
  2. In the left-hand menu, click "vApps"
  3. Open the vApp which contains the VM you have just migrated.
  4. Go to the Properties of the VM by clicking on it.
  5. In the "General" tab, scroll down to "Storage Policy". Choose the desired storage policy for your VMs - it should not be "Migration Storage".
  6. In the Properties menu, click on "Hardware". Verify that all disks of the server are either assigned to "Use VM Default" or something different than "Migration Storage".

DCS+: Re-create your vApp Layout and re-attach the Network

  1. Move your VMs to the destination vApp you created before.
  2. Add the new network adapter(s) and connect them to the prepared virtual networks.

    Tip: Tick the box "Show network adapter type" and chose the right one from there. We recommend using "VMXNET 3" by default, unless otherwise required by your systems. Don't forget to delete the old Intel network interface in the Windows device manager afterwards.

    Network Adapter

  3. Redefine the IP address assignment configuration.

    NIC Card

    Tip: If your VMs have static IP adresses configured, you need to add this static IP adress back here. Otherwise your OS may run into a networking error "IP address already assigned to another adapter (1179)".

  4. (Optional) Paste the VM Description to the VM properties.

  5. Start the VMs and verify that your services are running as expected.

DCS+: Deactivate the Migration

Once all your servers have been migrated and your services are running, you can deactivate the migration. This will detach the temporary migration storage from your environments in DCS Classic and DCS+. We recommend to do this at least 30 days after completing the last migration.

  1. Go to the DCS+ frontpage and click on the "My Items" ribbon on the top.
  2. Select "Migration" from the left -hand menu. This list shows all vOrgs, which have been activated for migration in the beginning.
  3. Locate the vOrg you have migrated and click on the "Actions" drop-down menu to the right. Select "Deactivate Migration" from the dropdown.

    Deactivate Migration

DCS Classic: Delete all Resources

Finally, please delete your remaining resources from DCS Classic. This will ensure that you are not billed anymore for your unused DCS Classic environment. It includes the deletion of your workload (VMs, vApps, DDCs), DDC connectivity (internet access, connection points), licenses or any Dynamic Storage data.

Procedure-wise, we recommend to work your way backwards from vCD level to the DCS portal to perform the deletion smoothly. On vCD, start by cleaning out your vApps, private catalogues and vOrg networks. Then from the DCS portal, detach the connectivity (Lan-I/BNS, Connection Points, Edge Gateways). Ultimately, you can delete your DDCs and licenses.

Tip: If you are uncertain about having deleted all billable resources, you can check the billing report of the current month to see if there are still any active items.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""